About The Spinoff

The Spinoff is an independent online magazine and full-service content agency. Since our foundation in 2014, our current affairs and cultural coverage has been embraced by an audience looking for a fresh perspective on New Zealand. The work of our award-winning journalists saw The Spinoff named Website of the Year at the 2019 Voyager Media Awards.

What is The Spinoff?

An independent Auckland-based media brand and content agency founded in 2014, the Spinoff covers current affairs and pop culture in a magazine style, focusing on features, analysis and opinion. 

In addition to its written content, The Spinoff also runs video specialising in short-form documentaries and docu-series, along with daily and weekly email newsletters, a range of podcasts covering everything from politics to food to pop culture. Its content agency, The Spinoff Custom, deploys the same sensibility on work for brands across their own platforms and social media.

Over the past six years The Spinoff has won and been nominated for numerous awards, including the Voyager Media Awards, the Design Institute’s Best Awards and New Zealand’s TV Awards. It is funded by the generous contributions of its members, along with work we create in collaboration with our commercial partners

Here’s more information on working with The Spinoff on a commercial basis. To get in touch with The Spinoff about our editorial, email info@thespinoff.co.nz

Our Editorial Team

Duncan Greive
Managing Editor

duncan@thespinoff.co.nz

Toby Manhire
Editor

toby@thespinoff.co.nz

Catherine McGregor
Deputy Editor

catherine@thespinoff.co.nz

Catherine Woulfe
Books editor

catherinewoulfe@thespinoff.co.nz

Alex Casey
Features editor

alex@thespinoff.co.nz

Alex Braae
Staff Writer

alexbraae@thespinoff.co.nz

Leonie Hayden
Ātea Editor

leonie@thespinoff.co.nz

Alice Webb-Liddall
Staff writer

alice@thespinoff.co.nz

Jane Yee
Podcast manager

jane@thespinoff.co.nz

Jihee Junn
Staff Writer

jihee@thespinoff.co.nz

Sam Brooks
TV Editor

sam@thespinoff.co.nz

Toby Morris
Creative Director

tobymorris@thespinoff.co.nz

Alice Neville
Deputy editor

aliceneville@thespinoff.co.nz

Michael Andrew
Business editor

michael@thespinoff.co.nz

Josie Adams
Staff Writer

josie@thespinoff.co.nz

Charlotte Muru-Lanning
Contributing writer

CharlotteMuru@thespinoff.co.nz

Justin Giovannetti
Political editor

Justin@thespinoff.co.nz

Justin Latif
Local Democracy Reporter, South Auckland

justinlatif@thespinoff.co.nz

Stewart Sowman-Lund
Live Updates Editor

stewart@thespinoff.co.nz