Aug 19 2023

National Party unveils election list with gender split top 40

Christopher Luxon speaks at the National conference at the Michael Fowler Centre in Wellington. (Photo: Hagen Hopkins / Getty Images)

The National Party has unveiled its election year list, with a number of first term MPs surging into the top 20.

It’s substantially different from the list that National released prior to the 2020 election, understandable given the change of leadership in 2021, a pair of byelections (Tauranga and Hamilton West), and the typical moves that happen over a parliamentary term.

However, the top 20 is pretty as expected, with the first few filled out by Christopher Luxon followed by Nicola Willis, Chris Bishop, Shane Reti and Paul Goldsmith. Simeon Brown is in slot nine and former leader Judith Collins rounds out the top 10.

There are 21 women and 19 men in the top 40, which Luxon said was proof of his goal to oversee increased diversity within the National Party (however, there are just eight women in the top 20). There are candidates from European, Māori, Indian, Pacific Island and Korean backgrounds, he said. “We are refreshing and renewing the National Party. The choice for New Zealand couldn’t be any starker,” he told reporters today. “I made a commitment I would improve diversity when I took over the leadership.”

First term MPs Penny Simmonds, Simon Watts, and Nicola Grigg snap up spots in the top 20 – 16, 17, and 19 respectively – with  a handful of candidates currently not in parliament in the early 20s. Nancy Lu, Suze Redmayne, Katie Nimon, and Catherine Wedd are ranked 20, 21,22, and 23.

“I am absolutely confident that this is the team that will provide New Zealanders with strong, stable government,” said party president Sylvia Wood. “The list is determined a committee of delegates, democratically elected across the country.”

Christopher Luxon speaks at the National conference at the Michael Fowler Centre in Wellington. (Photo: Hagen Hopkins / Getty Images)

The full list:

1 Christopher Luxon Botany
2 Nicola Willis Ōhāriu
3 Chris Bishop Hutt South
4 Shane Reti Whangārei
5 Paul Goldsmith Epsom
6 Louise Upston Taupō
7 Erica Stanford East Coast Bays
8 Matt Doocey Waimakariri
9 Simeon Brown Pakuranga
10 Judith Collins Papakura
11 Mark Mitchell Whangaparāoa
12 Todd McClay Rotorua
13 Melissa Lee Mt Albert
14 Gerry Brownlee List
15 Andrew Bayly Port Waikato
16 Penny Simmonds Invercargill
17 Simon Watts North Shore
18 Chris Penk Kaipara ki Mahurangi
19 Nicola Grigg Selywn
20 Nancy Lu List
21 Suze Redmayne Rangitīkei
22 Katie Nimon Napier
23 Catherine Wedd Tukituki
24 Tama Potaka Hamilton West
25 Agnes Loheni List
26 Maureen Pugh West Coast-Tasman
27 Emma Chatterton Remutaka
28 James Christmas List
29 Dale Stephens Christchurch Central
30 Siva Kilari Manurewa
31 Harete Hipango Te Tai Hauāuru
32 Rosemary Bourke Māngere
33 Frances Hughes Mana
34 Paulo Garcia New Lynn
35 Blair Cameron Nelson
36 Barbara Kuriger Taranaki-King Country
37 Tracy Summerfield Wigram
38 Hinurewa te Hau Tāmaki Makaurau
39 Angee Nicholas Te Atatū
40 Vanessa Weenink Banks Peninsula
41 Rima Nakhle Takanini
42 Ruby Schaumkel Kelston
43 Mahesh Muralidhar Auckland Central
44 Dana Kirkpatrick East Coast
45 Scott Sheeran Wellington Central
46 Navtej Singh Randhawa Panmure-Ōtāhuhu
47 Carl Bates Whanganui
48 Carlos Cheung Mt Roskill
49 Matthew French Taieri
50 Matt Stock Christchurch East
51 Karunā Muthu Rongotai
52 Ankit Bansal Palmerston North
53 Joseph Mooney Southland
54 Simon O’Connor Tāmaki
55 Scott Simpson Coromandel
56 Stuart Smith Kaikōura
57 Sam Uffindell Tauranga
58 Tim van de Molen Waikato
59 Miles Anderson Waitaki
60 Dan Bidois Northcote
61 Mike Butterick Wairarapa
62 Cameron Brewer Upper Harbour
63 Hamish Campbell Ilam
64 Tim Costley Ōtaki
65 Greg Fleming Maungakiekie
66 Ryan Hamilton Hamilton East
67 David MacLeod New Plymouth
68 Grant McCallum Northland
69 James Meager Rangitata
70 Tom Rutherford Bay of Plenty
71 Felicity Foy List
72 Janelle Hocking List
73 Kesh Naidoo-Rauf List
74 Senthuran Arulanantham List

Michael Woodhouse withdraws from National list over ranking

National MP Michael Woodhouse in 2020 (Image: Getty Images)

Long-serving National MP Michael Woodhouse has withdrawn from the party’s election year list, saying he didn’t believe the position offered would have resulted in a ministerial role should his party win the election.

Party leader Christopher Luxon has announced the list today (more to come on this), with Woodhouse’s list absent.

In a post on Facebook, shared moments before the list was unveiled, Woodhouse said the ranking offered to him made it clear he was “not part of the leadership’s thinking regarding Ministerial positions”. As a result, he has chosen not to run on the list and will instead contest the same Dunedin seat he has been unsuccessful in for the last few elections.

“I feel the best thing to do is to stand aside and allow a fresher face into the Caucus from the list,” he said. “I do so somewhat sad about the process of my departure from political life but overwhelmingly grateful to have been able to serve the people in the Party I love for the past fifteen years. No bitterness, just fond memories and fantastic friendships made.”

Luxon told reporters he had a conversation with Woodhouse and respected his decision. “I wish him well. He’s had a fantastic career over 15 years.”

National MP Michael Woodhouse
National MP Michael Woodhouse in 2020 (Image: Getty Images)